All is set for the election of four of the 12 principal officers of the National Assembly today by senators-elect and House of Representatives members-elect.

The offices being contested for are those of the President of the Senate, Deputy President of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the Deputy Speaker.

Recommended for the four offices are: Dr. Ahmed Lawan (President of the Senate); Ovie Omo-Agege (Deputy Senate President); Femi Gbajabiamila (Speaker); and Idris Ahmed Wase (Deputy Speaker).

To avert cracks in the party, All Progressives Congress (APC) governors and the National Working Committee yesterday deferred decisions on eight other principal posts.

The contentious posts left for APC are: the Senate Majority Leader; Senate Deputy Majority Leader; Senate Chief Whip;  Senate Deputy Chief Whip; House  Majority Leader; Deputy Majority Leader; Chief Whip and Deputy Chief Whip.

The governors and the party’s leadership have barred its members from nominating candidates against Lawan, Omo-Agege, Gbajabiamila and Wase.

But the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) was keeping its game plan to its chest on the intrigues in the APC over the choice of principal officers.

It was unclear last night whether the PDP will field candidates or not against the APC nominees.