Former Bayelsa State Governor Seriake Dickson of the Peoples Democratic Party has been declared winner of the Bayelsa West Senatorial District by-election.

He polled a total of 115,257 votes to defeat his rival, Peremobowei Ebebi of the All Progressives Congress who polled a total of 17,500 votes.

Dickson had on Saturday commended the electoral officers and security agencies for the impressive level of conduct of the election.

In the other news, the All Progressives Congress (APC) won Saturday’s senatorial bye-election in Lagos East district.

The bye-election was conducted on Saturday in the five local governments in the district and witnessed low voter turnout.

The party’ candidate Tokunbo Abiru was declared the winner in each of the five local governments in the area.

Abiru polled 89,204 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Babatunde Gbadamosi of the Peoples Democratic Party, who scored 11,257 votes to emerge second.