The names of the immediate past Service Chiefs have been forwarded by President Muhammadu Buhari to the Senate for appointment as non-career Ambassadors-Desginate.

This was contained in a letter sent to the President of the Senate, Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan.

The Senate President said;

“In accordance with section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate.”

The nominees are Gen Abayomi G. Olonisakin (Rtd ), Lt Gen Tukur Y. Buratai (Rtd), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas (Rtd), Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Rtd), and Air Vice Marshal Mohammed S. Usman (Rtd).

President Buhari also appealed to the senate to give expeditious consideration to the nominations.

Recall that the service chiefs were replaced on January 25.