PVC: Lawmaker urges decentralisation of INEC office in Badagry


Mr Ibrahim Layode ( Badagry state  Constituency 1)   on Thursday, urged  the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to decentralise its office in Badagry, Lagos State.

Layode said this would make for easy collection and registration for the Permanent Voter’s Card (PVC).

The lawmaker made the call at the Lagos State House of Assembly Eight  Annual Constituency Stakeholders’ Meeting in Badagry.

Reports that the theme of the meeting was: ” 2023 General Election:”The Imperatives of Permanent Voter’s Card (PVC)”.

Layode said this would also enable more people to register and collect their PVC in the town.

“It is very sad to see our people queue up daily at the INEC office in Ibereko without getting registered.

“It is the same  people that distribute PVCs that will also register residents, this is not palatable.

” INEC should decentralise their office and employ more ad-hoc staff to register our people.

“The INEC official said more than 20,000 PVCs have not been collected, so we are also appealing to our people to go and collect their PVC now,” he said.

Layode said the general elections for the next democratic dispensation would be held from Feb. 2023, adding that there was need to begin  preparations to ensure its success at all levels.

Similarly, the lawmaker representing Badagry state constituency II, Mr Setonji David,  also urged residents of Badagry to go and collect their PVCs.
Mr Setonji David, the lawmaker representing Badagry Constituency II speaking at the stakeholders meeting in Badagry.

He gave the advice at the De Goddey Event Centre, Iyana Iledu bus stop, venue of the stakeholders meeting in the constituency.

According to him, over 20 million PVCs have not been collected nationwide by Nigerians.

David urged  youths that had attained 18 years of age to go and register for the  PVC at  INEC office in Badagry.

He commended the constituents for being responsive to matters affecting their communities

Reports have it that traditional rulers and chiefs, APC Chieftains, political office holders, market men and women graced the event.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.