8 principal facts to know about Buhari’s 2019 ministerial list

President Muhammadu Buhari sent a ministerial nominees list to the Senate on Tuesday.

The ministerial nominees list which was read out by the Senate President, Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan to Distinguished senators in the red chamber contains eight principal facts about people who the president wants to work with.

1. There are 43 nominees in all, comprising seven women and 36 men.

2. Seven states comprising Edo, Anambra, Bauchi, Kaduna, Kano, Lagos, and Kwara have two nominees each.

3. Those who hail from the seven states with two nominees each are: Osagie Ehanire and Clement Ike (Edo State); Sharon Ikeazor and Chris Ngige (Anambra State); Mariam Katagun and Adamu Adamu (Bauchi State); Muhammad Mahmood and Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna); Sabo Nanono and Major-Gen. Bashir Salihi Magashi (Kano); Babatunde Fashola and Adeleke Mamora (Lagos); Lai Mohammed and Gbemisola Saraki (Kwara State).

4. The nominees are drawn from all the 36 states of the federation

5. The seven women on Buhari’s ministerial list are: Sharon Ikeazor, Zainab Ahmed, Gbemisola Saraki, Ramatu Tijjani-Aliyu, Sadiya Farouk, Mariam Katagun and Pauline Tallen.

6. Names of 19 ministers who served with President Muhammadu Buhari in his first term were dropped and replaced with new nominees.

7. The 19 ministers that were dropped and replaced are: Ex-minister of interior, Abdulrahman Dambazau; Solomon Dalung (Sports); Adebayo Shittu (Communication); Suleiman Adamu (Water Resources); Ibe Kachikwu (Petroleum); Audu Ogbeh (Agriculture); Udo Udoma (Budget and National Planning); Ibrahim Usman Jibril (Environment); Khadija Bukar Ibrahim (ex-state minister, Foreign Affairs); Cladius Omoleye Daramola (ex-minister of state for Niger Delta); Prof Anthony Onwuka (ex-minister of state for Education); Aisha Alhassan (Women Affairs); Dan Ali (Defence); Okechukwu Enelamah (Trade, Investment and Industry); Aisha Abubakar (ex-minister of state, Trade and Investment); Heineken Lokpobiri (ex-minister of State for Agriculture); Isaac Adewole (Health);  Abubakar Bawa Bwari (ex-minister of state for Solid Minerals); Usani Uguru (ex-minister of Niger Delta).

8. There are eight (8) former governors in the ministerial nominees list. They are; Rauf Aregbesola (Former Governor of Osun State), Godswill Akpabio (Former Governor of Akwa Ibom State), Timipre Sylva ( Former Governor of Bayelsa State), George Akume (Former Governor of Benue State), Chris Ngige (Former Governor of Anambra State), Ogbonnuya Onu (Civilian Governor of Anambra State), Rotimi Amaechi (Former Governor of Rivers State) and Babatunde Fashola (Former Governor of Lagos State).



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.