Photos: Naira Marley bags first major award, beats Tiwa Savage, others to win ‘Viewers’ Choice’ at Soundcity MVP

The long awaited annual Soundcity MVP Awards finally took place  last night at Eko Convention Centre. The glamorous event was attended by popular African and international artists all over the world.

And many Nigerian artiste shined as they bagged numerous awards, one of such winners is the controversial singer, Naira Marley, who clinched his first major Nigerian award at the 2020 Soundcity MVP Awards on Saturday.

His viral song ‘Soapy’ earned him the ‘Viewers’ Choice’ award. ‘Soapy’ is the singer’s most popular track and his sixth single of 2019. He dropped the track days after his release from prison.

The Marlian President beat Tiwa Savage (49-99), Chinko Ekun (Able God), Prince Kaybee (Banomoya), Shatta Wale (My Level), Burna Boy (On The Low), Rayvanny (Tetema), Zlatan (Zanku – Legwork) to win the ‘Viewers’ Choice’ award.

Popular singers like, Davido, Diamond Platinumz, Tekno, Joeboy, Fireboy,Tiwa Savage and some newbies dazzled the crowd with thrilling performances.

Some of the other winners of the night included Burna Boy, Prince Kaybee, Rema, Joeboy, Fireboy, Davido etc.

The show was declared open with a performance by songstress, GoodGirl LA. While South African media personality, Bonang Matheba, hosted the event.

The emergency of  Rema  as winner of the ‘Best New Act’ led to criticism and condemnation as some Twitter users  slammed the organisers and accused them of being partial.

The critics argued that Fireboy deserved to win Best new MVP rather than Rema.

Photos and full list of winners at the Soundcity MVP Award and their category below.

Best New MVP

FireBoy DML (NG)

JoeBoy (NG)

Marioo (TZ)

Rema (NG) – Winner

Simmy (SA)

Wendy Shay (GH)

Best Collaboration

Blow My Mind – Davido (NG)

Daz How Star Do – Skibii (NG)

Gugulethu – Prince Kaybee [SA] – Winner

Jama – DJ Mic Smith (GH)

Killin Dem – Burna Boy (NG)

Inama – Diamond PlatNumz (TZ)

Best Pop

Innos B (CG)

Nandy (TZ)

JoeBoy (NG) – Winner

Otile Brown (KE)

Kizz Daniel (NG)

Teni (NG)

Mayorkun (NG)

Rayvanny (TZ)

Naira Marley (NG)

Best Hip Hop

BlaqBonez (NG)

Falz (NG)

KHALIGRAPH Jones (KE) – Winner

Kwesta (SA)

Medikal (GH)

Shinski (KE)

Sarkodie (GH)

Reminisce (NG)

Ricky Rick (SA)

Zakwe (SA)

Best Duo

Black Motion (SA)

Blaq diamond (SA)

DopeNation (GH) – Winner

Ethic (KE)

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.




Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.