APC clears Nasarawa State’s LG poll

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won every seat in Wednesday’s Nasarawa State local government council polls.

The Chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission, Ayuba Wandai, disclosed this when he announced the results on Thursday in Lafia.

Mr Wandai said the APC candidates won the chairmanship and councillorship positions in all the 13 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of the state.

“In this regard and in line with power vested in me as the Chairman of the commission and Chief Electoral Officer of the state, I hereby declare APC candidates in the Chairmanship election in all the 13 LGAs as winners and are hereby returned elected.

“For the councillorship position of the 147 electoral wards, the APC candidates are hereby returned elected.

“It is on record that seven political parties namely: ADC, APC, LP, NNPP, PDP, SDP and ZLP participated in the exercise,” he said.

He said based on reports from the field, the election was conducted peacefully across the state, except for the delay in the distribution of election materials in some parts of the state which he claimed were due to logistics problems.

“So far, NASIEC has successfully conducted the election that can be best described as free, fair and credible, in line with the electoral law of the state,” he said.

Mr Wandai recalled that the commission had, on July 7, released its guidelines for the conduct of the chairmanship and councillorship elections across the state and had “proceeded with deliberate and determined steps to conduct the election.

“So, in line with the responsibility vested on NASIEC, the commission successfully conducted the October 6 local councils election across the 13 LGAs and 147 electoral wards of the state,” he said.


Follow Us on Google News

Get News Via Whatsapp

Get Updates Via Telegram

Got news tip? send us story


Leave a comment