President Buhari orders Ngige, Amaechi, others to resign

Rotimi Amaechi, Minister of Transportation, Chris Ngige, Minister of Labour and Employment, and other Federal Executive Council (FEC) members vying for elected posts in 2023 must now submit letters of resignation by Monday, May 16, 2022.

President Muhammadu Buhari issued the directive during a meeting of the Federal Executive Council at the Presidential Villa on Wednesday.

Others affected by the presidential order are Ministers of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation Abubakar Malami, Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, who have all joined the presidential race on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Others are the Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for the governorship position in Abia State, and the Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for the senatorial seat in Plateau State.

However, the Minister of Information, Lai Mohammed, who read out the directive during the meeting said it excludes the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo because he is an elected member of the cabinet.

Lai affirmed that if there are any amendments or additions to this directive they would be made shortly.

According to the Minister, the directive might involve political appointees, if the need arises.


Follow Us on Google News

Get News Via Whatsapp

Get Updates Via Telegram

Got news tip? send us story


Leave a comment