Turner, Oboku, Ambaiowei get Bayelsa PDP Reps tickets

The Bayelsa chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has conducted a peaceful Federal House of Representatives primaries across the five federal constituencies in the State.

As of the time of filing this report, three federal constituencies had concluded their primaries with two other constituencies still struggling to slug it out.

Former Chairman of Ogbia Local Government Area, Hon. Ebiyoun Turner, emerged the flag bearer of the party for the Ogbia Federal Constituency.

He defeated three others, including the incumbent member of House of Representatives, Hon. Fred Obua.

Turner scored 16 votes to beat his closest rival, Hon. Mieteme Obodor, who scored 12 votes.

A former Commissioner for Information, Hon. Daniel Iworiso-Markson had seven votes while the incumbent federal lawmaker, Obua, scored six votes.

Declaring the results, the Returning Officer, Mr. ThankGod Embilakpo, said after the fair, free and smooth contest, the aspirant with the highest votes, Turner, emerged the winner.

At the Yenagoa Federal Constituency, a member of the House of Assembly, Hon. Oboku Oforji won with 74 votes as against his opponents Ogbo Okolovie, who scored five votes and Romanus Lot with zero vote.

At the Southern Ijaw Federal Constituency, Mr Rodney Ambaiowei scored 29 votes to defeat a former Commissioner, Kurokegha Dorgu, aka Kabaka, who scored 24 votes.

The other results from Brass/Nembe and
Sagbama/Ekeremor federal constituencies were still being awaited as of the time of filing this report.

It was gathered that the delay in the conduct of the primaries was due to late arrival of election materials to Brass and Sagbama venues of the primaries.


Follow Us on Google News

Get News Via Whatsapp

Get Updates Via Telegram

Got news tip? send us story


Leave a comment