Bala Mohammed wins Bauchi governorship election

The Bauchi state gubernatorial candidate of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), Sen. Bala Mohammed, has been declared winner of the governorship election in Bauchi state.

Declaring the winner of the poll, the returning officer Prof. Mohammed Kyari, a Vice Chancellor of the Modibbo Adama University of Technology Yola, said that after merging the final results, the PDP candidate polled 515,113 votes while his close rival Governor Mohammed Abubakar of the All Progressive Congress scored 500,625 votes.

“I professor Mohammed Kyari certified as the returning officer of the March 9, March 23 and March 25 2019, governorship election in Bauchi state hereby announced that Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned reelected,” He said.

He said that the total number of the registered voters at the Guber poll were 2,462, 843, the accredited voters; 1,143,019 The total valid votes cast stood at 1,111,406 while rejected votes is 22, 560. Those who cast their ballot were 1,133,966

He added that the PDP candidate defeated his opponent with 14, 488 votes.

Ali Pate of the Peoples Redemption Party polled 46, 326 votes while Ahmed Adamu Shuaibu of New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP followed respectively with 33, 339 votes.

Earlier, during the March 9 inconclusive election, Mohammed was credited with 469,512 votes and Abubakar 465,453, with a vote margin of 4059 but the election was declared inconclusive after the total number of votes cancelled during March 9 election was more that the margin between the PDP candidate, who was leading with votes and that of the APC candidate.

At the second ballot, Sen. Bala Mohammed PDP, garnered a total of 6376 votes against his main opponent, incumbent Governor Mohammed Abubakar who polled 5117 votes at the rerun, with a vote margin of 1259 between both parties.

The total no of registered voters at the rerun was 22,759. Accredited voters are 12, 109, Valid votes, 11, 568 while total votes cast are 11, 979. Rejected votes, 403.

The rerun election was held in 36 Polling covering 29 registration areas (wards) in 15 affected local government areas.




Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More