Ortom sets up Emergency Response committee on coronavirus

Benue State Governor, Samuel Ortom has constituted an Emergency Response Committee on Coronavirus (COVID-19).

The development was disclosed in a statement issued by the Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Terver Akase, the committee is to proactively monitor, supervise and coordinate Benue State Government’s response to the dreaded disease.

The governor named the Commissioner for Health and Human Services, Dr Sunday Ongbabor as Chairman while Dr Samuel Ngise is to serve as Secretary.

Other members of the Committee also includes; Commissioner for Information, Culture and Tourism, Mrs Ngunan Addingi; Commissioner for Water Resources and Environment, Engr. Dondo Ahire and the Commissioner for Agriculture and Natural Resources, Dr Timothy Ijir.

The Committee further has Mr Apir Ityu, Dr Terna Kur, Mr Agwaza Iorkpiligh, Mr Matthew Uyina, Mr Moses Leva

Dr Edward Amali, Mr Claude Bitaronga, Dr Peteru Inunduh and Professor Terlumun Swende as well as Dr Alli Cornelius, Dr Patrick Echekwube and Mr Micheal Adejo as members.

He also directed that surveillance on coronavirus be stepped up in the 23 local government areas of the state, stating that already, a treatment centre has been established at the Benue State University Teaching Hospital and a location identified to be used as quarantine unit in the event of an outbreak of the disease.

Governor Ortom urged Benue people to adhere to preventive measures and assist health workers in their various communities to succeed.

FOR Trending Videos, Comedy, Viral Photos, Click to join Our INSTAGRAM: @withinnigeria




Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.