Three Ogun lawmakers dumps ADC for APC

All three members of the Ogun State House of Assembly from the African Democratic Congress (ADC) have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The lawmakers’ defection was announced in separate letters read by the Speaker of the Assembly, Olakunle Oluomo, during plenary in Abeokuta on Tuesday.

The defectors are Jemili Akingbade (Imeko Afon), Adegoke Adeyanju (Yewa North 1) and Wahab Haruna (Yewa North 2).

According to them, they had decided to join the ruling party after due consultations with constituents and supporters.

Responding, the Speaker congratulated them for joining the ruling party, adding that their arrival into the APC would be for the development of the party and the state at large.

Recently, seven members of the Allied People’s Movement (APM) decamped to the APC.

As of now, the APC has 25 out of the 26 members that make up the Ogun Assembly, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has one member.

WITHIN NIGERIA had earlier reported that the lawmaker representing Ondo East/Ondo west federal constituency, Peter Makinde also defected from the African Democratic Congress (ADC) to the All Progressive Congress (APC).


Follow Us on Google News

Get News Via Whatsapp

Get Updates Via Telegram

Got news tip? send us story


Leave a comment