Putin bans Boris Johnson, other top UK officials from entering Russia

Russia has declared British Prime Minister Boris Johnson, Foreign Minister Liz Truss, and other cabinet ministers persona non gratae.

The affected persons are not welcomed in its domain over ‘unprecedented hostile actions of the British government’, Moscow said in a statement on Saturday.

It said it imposed the ban over the United Kingdom’s role in Russia’s ongoing war with Ukraine.

Russia’s Foreign Ministry said in the statement that the move was in response to actions of the United States, the European Union which were “strangling” the domestic economy.

“In connection with the unprecedented hostile actions of the British government, expressed, in particular, in the imposition of sanctions against top officials of the Russian Federation, a decision was made to include key members of the British government and a number of political figures in the Russian “stop list”, the statement said.

The foreign ministry names 13 British officials, including former Prime Minister Theresa May, and warns it will be expanded “in the near future.”

It includes Mr Johnson, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Justice Dominic Rennie Raab, Minister of Foreign Affairs Elizabeth Truss, Secretary of Defense Ben wallace, Minister of Transport Grant Schapps, Interior Minister Priti Patel, Finance Minister Rishi Sunak, Media Minister Nadine Vanessa Dorries. Also listed are the Deputy Secretary of Defense James Heappey, Minister of Scotland Nicola Ferguson Stuegeon and Attorney General for England and Wales Suella Braverman.

In March, Russia also imposed travel restrictions against United States President Joe Biden, Hillary Clinton and other members of the Biden Administration in response to the sanctions rolled out against it.


Follow Us on Google News

Get News Via Whatsapp

Get Updates Via Telegram

Got news tip? send us story


Leave a comment