Lagos unveils digitised container classrooms, rewards 13 teachers

Lagos State Government has unveiled a set of technology-driven modular learning spaces, introducing an innovation to the design of a modern classroom.

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu inaugurated a nine-classroom block built to replace decrepit concrete structures in Vetland Junior Grammar School, a Government-owned model college in Agege Local Government Area of the state.

The Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Gboyega Akosile, who disclosed this in a statement said; “The interactive modular classrooms were improvised using standardised reusable freight compartments, known as container.

“Each of the classroom compartment is adequately-insulated to give comfort and create a conducive ambience for hybrid learning for children in the public secondary school.

“The project is completed with three laboratories and four staff rooms – all made from container. There are also recreational facilities, including a five-aside football pitch, a multi-purpose-built court, which can be used for a variety of games, such as volleyball, long tennis, badminton, and basketball.

“The classrooms and their ancillary facilities have their dedicated energy source, off grid; they are powered by solar panels, which guarantee constant power supply to enable teaching and learning.”

Meanwhile, at the 2021 Annual Teachers’ Merit Award on Wednesday, the state government announced its decision to honour 13 outstanding teachers with Sports UtilityVehicles.

The best teachers in the primary school category were, Fadayomi Omolayo of Karsole Primary School, Ifako; Olusegun Aufutau of United Nursery and Primary School, Ibeshe Town; Michael Ayoola of AUD Society Primary School II and Fausat Adegeye, Ebenezer African Church Primary School.

The three best teachers in Junior Secondary Schools are, Adenike Ojo of Bolade Junior Grammar School; Folashade Oyedeji of Ajara Comprehensive High School; Oluseyi Amao of Satellite Junior Secondary School and Olubukola Dosumu of Girls Junior High School, Agege.

In the Senior Secondary School category, the following were the best; Adeola Adefemi of Oke-Odo Senior High School, Alimosho; Bolanle Alamu of Government Senior College, Agege; Soji Megbowon of Jakande Estate Comprehensive Senior College and Adesokan Yahya of Vetland Senior Grammar School.

A teacher in a special needs category, Lukman Agbabiaka of Teacher State Junior Grammar School (Special), Surulere, was the best in the Special Needs School category.


Follow Us on Google News

Get News Via Whatsapp

Get Updates Via Telegram

Got news tip? send us story


Leave a comment