Supreme court announces 7-man panel to hear Atiku’s appeal

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Justice Tanko Muhammad has assumed headship of the seven-man panel of Justices of the Supreme Court that will hear and determine the appeal the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, and its candidate, Atiku Abubakar, filed to challenge President Muhammadu Buhari’s re-election.

Apart from the CJN who  heads the panel, others listed in the panel: Justice Bode Rhodes -Vivour, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, Justice John Iyang Okoro, Justice Musa Datijo Muhammad, Justice Ejembi Eko and Justice Uwani Abaji.

Abubakar is challenging the presidential election tribunal judgement which affirmed the victory of President Muhammadu Buhari  at the February 2019 poll.

The Supreme Court on Wednesday convened to hear Abubakar’s appeal.

Every effort to unravel panel members had been futile as sources close to the Supreme Court insisted that the CJN would conceal membership till the 11th however.

The courtroom as expected is filled to its capacity by lawyers, politicians and team of counsel to parties in the matter.

So far, the bone of contention has been the announcement by counsel to the appellants of six interlocutory appeals grouped into two, which he prayed the court to take before the mail appeals.

According to him, they border on the striking out of some paragraphs in the petition and striking out some paragraphs in the reply.

But the wise men, haven apportioned maximum of 15 minutes to the counsel to argue his appeal, admonished him to go directly into the main appeal since such matters also formed part of the main appeal.

However, the counsel stood his ground, causing the court to adjourn for 15 minutes to enable the appellants defense team decide on what to do with their time.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.




Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.