COVID-19: All 36 States Now have Testing Centres – NCDC

As efforts to combat the COVID-19 pandemic are ongoing, the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) has announced that there are now COVID-19 testing laboratories across the 36 states and the federal capital territory (FCT).

According to the NCDC, Niger state which was the only state left out initially, joined the list on Wednessday following the procurement of a fully established laboratory.

The NCDC made the development known via its Twitter handle.

Since February, when Nigeria had it index case, the country moved from zero laboratory to 71 laboratories within six months.

As of September, 35 states and the FCT had been added to the NCDC molecular laboratory network.

With Niger state which joined yesterday, all states across the country now have at least one laboratory for testing for COVID-19.

“We are pleased to announce the inclusion of the Niger State Public Health Laboratory, Minna to the NCDC Molecular Laboratory Network,” the tweet read.

“In 8 months, we have activated at least one laboratory for #COVID19 testing in all 36 +1 states of Nigeria.”


Follow Us on Google News

Get News Via Whatsapp

Get Updates Via Telegram

Got news tip? send us story


Leave a comment